Board Structure

The number of board votes for each municipality or electoral area is determined by population, letters patent, and the Local Government Act. Each area is allocated one vote for every 1,500 persons or portion thereof.

View our current Board of Directors.

When an area has more than one director, the allowable number of votes must be divided amongst its directors as evenly as possible. The results of these calculations can be seen on the following chart:

Comox Strathcona Waste Management Board Voting Structure Population 106,790 (2012 Census and certified by Minister per regulation)
MunicipalityPopulationNo. of DirectorsVoting Strength
City of Campbell River32.059522
City of Courtenay24,099417
Town of Comox13,627210
Village of Cumberland3,39813
Village of Gold River1,26711
Village of Sayward31611
Village of Tahsis31711
Village of Zeballos12511
Electoral Area   
Puntledge – Black Creek (CVRD Area C)8,32516
Lazo North (CVRD Area B)7,19015
Baynes Sound – Denman/Hornby Islands (CVRD Area A)6,89915
Oyster Bay – Buttle Lake (SRD Area D)4,03713
Discovery Islands – Mainland Inlets (SRD Area C)2,60112
Kyuquot-Nootka/Sayward (SRD Area A)1,33311
Cortes Island (SRD Area B)1,19711